The New Zealand Brass Band Championships is one of the world’s oldest music competitions. 

The first contest was held in the Christchurch Drill Hall on the 17th of April 1880 with an audience of 2500 people.  Six bands competed, and the audience chose the winner – the Invercargill Garrison Band, under the command of Captain W.E. Heywood.

These days the national contest is held annually in July over five days and includes Junior and Open solo and ensemble competitions, a Sacred Item/Hymn, Test selection and Own Choice selection for bands in each grade (A, B, C, D, and Youth), plus a Street March. The contest often concludes with a gala concert. 

Contest Results

Upcoming Dates

2023 5 to 8 July
Dunedin’s Festival of Brass at the Dunedin Centre, Dunedin.
Contact Contest Administrator or Dunedin Contest Committee secretary James Duncan:

2024 10 to 13 July
Pacific Festival of Brass at the Vodafone Events Centre, Manukau City, Auckland
Contact Contest Administrator or contest committee contact Owen Melhusih or 021 281 0405

2023 National Championships

Dunedin's Festival of Brass  -  5 to 8 July 2023

The countdown is on to the 2023 National Championships in Dunedin. All events will be under one roof at the refurnished Dunedin Centre.

Key dates:
Tuesday 7 March: Test music announced and release of contest entry forms.
Saturday 6 May: Contest entries close.  
Wednesday 21 June: Draw for solo and band events announced.
Wednesday 5 and Thursday 6 July: Solo and ensemble events.
Friday 7 and Saturday 8 July: Band events.

Contact: Contest Administrator or Dunedin Contest Committee secretary  James Duncan

The Dunedin Centre

The Dunedin Centre

This product has been added to your cart